Roles define a set of capabilities that you can assign to your users within a project.

Set up roles for different groups of users, such as content contributors, reviewers, developers, and more. For example, you might want to invite a user to your project and give them specific capabilities that other users don't have.

Note: To configure roles in your project, you'll need the capability to manage custom roles.

Adding new roles

In this example, you'll learn how to add a custom role for content contributors.

  1. Choose Project settings from the app menu.
  2. Under Project settings, choose Roles.
  3. Click Create new.
  4. Name the new role, for example, Content contributor.
  5. Select the capabilities for the role, such as, View content and Edit content.
        - Tip: Check out Role capabilities to learn what each capability does.
  6. Click Save changes.

After creating the custom role for content contributors, you can assign it to your users.

See how to:

  • Change roles of your existing users.
  • Assign the new role to users when inviting them to your project.

Making changes to roles

Choose what users can do by adjusting their custom roles. Note that in every Kentico Cloud project, you'll always have the Project manager role that cannot be changed.

To change the capabilities of the custom roles in your project:

  1. Choose Project settings from the app menu.
  2. Under Project settings, choose Roles.
  3. Click on a custom role to open it.
  4. Make changes as necessary.
  5. Click Save changes.

After saving the changes, current users that were assigned the role will see the difference in a few moments.

Deleting roles

You can delete a custom role in the following cases:

  • The role is not assigned to any user.
  • The role is not used as a limititation to with any workflow step.
  • Users that were assigned the role are inactive on the project.

To delete a role:

  1. Choose Project settings from the app menu.
  2. Under Project settings, choose Roles.
  3. Click on a custom role to open it.
  4. Click Delete.

The role has been deleted from your project. If you're within your plan limits, you can undo the deletion.

Note that the Project manager role cannot be deleted from your project.

What's next?

Did this answer your question?