Customize your content workflow by defining the steps your content goes through. You can make your workflow as simple or as complex as your content creation process requires:

  • For each step, you can choose workflow transitions so that your content contributors have clear steps to follow. For example: DraftReviewApprovedPublished.
  • For each step, you can specify which roles can work with it. For example, only Reviewers can move content from Review to Approved.

Once your project workflow is set up, the people on your team know exactly how they fit into the process.

See how to configure your project's workflow inside the app.

Adding workflow steps

To create a workflow step in your project:

  1. From the app menu, choose Project settings.
  2. Under Project settings, choose Workflow.
  3. Next to a workflow step, click Add next step (+) – the new step appears below the existing one.
      1. In the Name field, type a name for the step (up to 30 characters).
      2. (Optional) Select a color for the step – it helps visualize production progress.
      3. Choose which steps can transition into this new step.
      4. Choose the steps that this new step can transition to.
      5. (Optional) Choose which roles on your project can work with this step.
      6. Click Confirm.
  4. Click Save changes in the top right to save the new project workflow.

You can now use the new workflow step when moving items through their workflow.

Changing workflow transitions

When configuring transitions for a workflow step, make sure the step can still eventually transition to the final Published step.

To change the workflow transitions of a step, click the step name and choose transitions to and from the step. Then confirm and save your changes to the project workflow.

Now that you know how to set up transitions, take a look at a few content workflow examples.

Limiting steps to user roles

You can limit which roles can work on content in a given workflow step – this includes the roles' capability to submit content items to the next step.

When changing workflow of an item, you always need to assign at least one contributor whose role allows them to work with the new workflow step.

To limit a workflow step to specific roles, click the step name and choose one or more roles from the list. Then confirm and save your changes to the project workflow.

Changing step color

Step color helps you visualize your content production progress.

To change the color of a step, click the step name and choose a different color. Then confirm and save your changes to the project workflow.

Deleting workflow steps

There are two workflow steps that you will always have in your project workflow:

  • Draft (or however you name your first workflow step)
  • Scheduled / Published

You can delete any other workflow step if it's not used by your content items.

To delete a workflow step:

  1. From the app menu, choose Project settings.
  2. Under Project settings, choose Workflow.
  3. Click a workflow step.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click Save changes in the top right to save the new project workflow.

Note that deleting a workflow step may break transitions in other steps. Make sure you update your existing workflow steps so that your content items can eventually reach the final step.

What's next?

  • Once you're done setting up the workflow steps, use them in practice and assign contributors to content items as well.
  • In addition to communicating changes via workflow, you can add comments to discuss your ideas with others or ask for clarification.
  • Set up a common production flow for your project and see how content workflow and roles can work together to your team's benefit.
  • If you're finished with your content items, you can publish them right away or schedule publishing to a later date and the system will take care of the rest.
Did this answer your question?